A Moving Subject

Writing as a sufferer of incurable cancer, I know my last days on Earth as Mortal Man will be extremely painful, akin to having a knitting needle stuck into my body slowly, every so often. If I have made any implacable enemies in life I can be sure they will allow that differents points of my anatomy, allowing themselves a smile but forgetting, the same fate may very well await them. For me, morphine will be on hand to flood life with a calmness not known before, the injections courtesy of a registered carer, perpetual sleep the consequence. This is known as palliative care.

The word “euthanasia” itself comes from the Greek words “eu” (good) and “thanatos” (death). Those who are against assisted dying forget that every day, a nurse somewhere in a hospital or a hospice or a home, guide us slowly, humanely and quiety into that long night. I would not want it any other way. The alternative is to sit under a hedge like a dying animal until the heart takes no more and stops beating. I would describe help at the end, dying with dignity, a death devoutly to be preferred to screaming out in agonising torment, distressed family waiting for the inevitable.

The debate on assisted death has reignited in Scotland. It should not be a morbid subject. Unless the current first minister, Humza Yousaf delays provision, a new bill to legalise assisted dying in Scotland is due to be published by the Scottish parliament later this year, in a fresh attempt by its supporters to get the measure enacted for the first time in the UK. Islam, like Judaism and mainstream Christianity, proscribes suicide. 

The YouGov poll for the campaign group Dignity in Dying found that 77% of Scots supported the measure, with 12% of those questioned opposing it. Its findings also suggested attitudes have shifted in favour of the legalisation among those with a religious faith, even though it conflicted with most religious teachings. I’d like us to imitate Mexicans and have a Day of the Dead celebration every year, remembering our ancestors. I digress.

Liam McArthur, the Scottish Liberal Democrat MSP who is tabling the bill, said these findings, which echo other recent polls, proved the measures were widely supported. “We know that excellent palliative care is the right path for the majority of dying people but there are also those who face a bad death, dying in great distress,” he said. “Tightly safeguarded and compassionate assisted dying laws not only give dying people what they need but protect all other groups as well.”

A civilised country should offer the individual the right to choose how and where they wish to leave this place rather than endure extreme pain, immobility and loss of bodily functions. Of course, there are people who take the opposite view. But I return to my original point, circular fashion; we have a kind of assisted route already in existence. Why not legitimalise the process for those who want to end it all? Some object on religous grounds, some on the argument that there is always hope, a cure on the horizon, some on the fear death by officialdom might stray into wider grounds, such as just wanting out of a modern world of emails, television trivia, advertising, computers and supermarket ready meals.

For those who know little of Dignitas, the Swiss clinic for assisted suicide, it provides the final (expensive!) days to people who are suicidally depressed, terminally ill or in the grip of a degenerative neurological disease. Once they have achieved the aim of ending their lives police officers and undertakers get involved. The procedure is uncomplicated. When you are ready to die you send Dignitas copies of your medical records with a letter explaining why things have become intolerable. This information is dispatched to one of Dignitas’s affiliated doctors. He or she considers the request on the basis of your medical history whether or not they are ready to write a prescription for the fatal dose. If the doctor agrees in principle, a ‘green light’ is given to the member and they can contact staff at the Dignitas HQ, who will schedule a date.

I have to add that seeing photographs of the inside of the place it’s clear no money has been spared to make the sparse rooms look cheap and decidely like a run-down back-packer’s hostel. I am sure, if such a place was established in a tranquil, beautiful rural area of the Highlands, we Scots could do a better job of matching the interior with the exterior.

The number of desperate people making the journey to this clinic increases every year. Between 1998 and 2022 over 550 UK citizens ended their lives with the help of Dignitas. While the UK has long resisted attempts to change the law on assisted suicide, a number of high-profile supporters of change have flocked to the cause in recent years, including novelist Ian McEwan, former Archbishop of Canterbury Lord Carey and actor Hugh Grant. The 2015 bill composed by former UK Lord Chancellor Lord Falconer’s (Assisted Dying Bill) failed to gain enough support in the House of Lords. An independent Scotland might take a different view.

Here are a few examples of the casualties of disease who fear less the dying, than swimming against a powerful current that wears down their resistance.

Theresa George, known to most as Ani, says she has no fear of dying but does have a fear of how she dies. She has a degenerative, incurable condition, and when her defences are down, the upsurge of stress and anxiety can at times feel overwhelming. “I can have panic attacks,” she said. “All of my effort at this point is on trying to keep a positive mental attitude and enjoying what life I have left.”

George, 63, has lived for 20 years on the west coast of North Uist in the Outer Hebrides with her partner, Maire Coniglio. Originally from Maine in New England, George had been working in home care when late last year she was diagnosed with motor neurone disease. “When I came home and told my partner, she said ‘No, no, no, it can’t be that,’” George recalled.

The progressive disease began with loss of mobility in her left ankle and foot; it spread to affect her leg and now her left side is subject to tremors and weakness. A trained massage therapist, George now uses a motorised wheelchair. Living with accelerating physical deterioration, she has the very real fear of “being trapped in my own body”, she said. “I’m slowly watching myself deteriorate, really, and it just brings up all that anxiety and fear and the stress of it all. I don’t have a fear of dying but I do have a fear of how I die – I think most people can relate to that.“I don’t want to die but more so, I don’t want to suffer.”

George considered travelling to the Dignitas assisted dying clinic in Zurich. Faced with the significant costs of doing so – estimated by the pro-assisted dying campaign group Dignity in Dying at about £15,000 – and the logistics of travelling there, she quickly dropped the idea. For her, dying at home on her own terms would be far preferable than the added stress of dying in an anonymous room abroad. “To have that at home, with people that you love around you, that would be amazing,” George said.

Suzie McAllister, 47, a primary school teacher in Fort William, empathises. She cared for her husband, Colin, a very fit and active climber and kayaker, as he died in enormous pain from an aggressive and untreatable stomach tumour earlier this year. The sedatives and pain relief he was given simply failed to alleviate his suffering and distress, she said. The cancer made it impossible for him to eat. He would wake up crying out in pain. For McAllister, it is incomprehensible the law cannot allow someone in that degree of pain to voluntarily end their suffering. Colin considered Dignitas; towards the end, he pleaded for her to find the drugs to end his life on the internet.

“He had no control, no right to choose, and that’s what made him angry” she said. “You can’t tell me that the way Colin died was moral in any way. The autonomy, the will of the patient, has to be considered. “It wasn’t tolerable, not for me having to watch it and certainly not for him.”

In 2009, one of Britain’s most respected conductors, Sir Edward Downes, and his wife, Joan, ended their lives together at the clinic. Edward, 85, who was knighted in 1991, was almost blind and Joan, 74, was his full-time carer. He had a long and distinguished career with the BBC Philharmonic and the Royal Opera House, and conducted the inaugural performance at Sydney Opera House. The couple’s children, Caractacus and Boudicca, said their parents had “died peacefully, and under circumstances of their own choosing”.

Helen Cowie told a radio chat show how she helped her son Robert, 33, kill himself after he was left paralysed from the neck down. Cowie, of Cardonald in Glasgow, told BBC Radio Scotland’s Call Kaye programme how her son went to Dignitas in October and “had a very peaceful ending”. Cowie said her son was once a “big fit healthy boy” who went training four times a week. He was reportedly paralysed in a swimming accident three years ago.

“His life was terrible. He suffered every single day. He couldn’t do anything for himself but sit there. He was just a head and just didn’t want to be like that any more.We were in Zurich for four days with my three sons and his friend, and one of my sons said it was the happiest he had seen his brother in three years. I would rather have been able to do it in this country. That really upsets me that I had to take my son to Switzerland, and I had to leave his body there and wait for the ashes to come back. It should be allowed here, but not willy-nilly to everybody. It should be investigated hard because you have to be in a sane mind to have it done.”

The author Terry Prachett died of Altzheimer’s disease. He was a patron of the English charity Dignity in Dying. It campaigns for a change in England’s law to allow assisted dying. The organisation’s chief executive, Sarah Wootton, said: “At the heart of the assisted dying debate is choice and protection. People suffer at the end of life. People take difficult decisions about their own deaths. As uncomfortable as it may be we need to face up to the reality of what is going on, both at home and abroad.”

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Moving Subject

  1. ayeinskye says:

    Having lost my father 20 months and my father in law 8 days ago (his funeral was held today),. I have seen one two strong healthy men waste away to nothing as tumours grew in their esophaegus, yes both had the same cancer, one that prevents the suffrer from being able to swallow food, and becoming more common due to a variety of reasons, drinking,smoking, working in places like sawmills, workingf win places where asbestos could be inhaled, even eating processed foods have all been linked to it.
    But if we allowed a dog or a cow or any animal to suffer like they did, wasting away to a stage where the sufferer looked like had just come out of Dachau, Auschwitz, or the Burma railway in WWII then we would rightfully be done for animal cruelty and the animals would have been put down, yet when we watch our family members suffer, there is nothing we can do but administer oramorph, liquid paracetamol or put on fentanyl patches
    Once proud, strong men cant stand,need help in the bathrooms to wash, or wipe their dowps deserve more, they deserve to be able to make a choice whether to suffer in pain, or go out at a time of their choosing where they dont have to suffer pain,or watch as their children weep as nothing else can be done yet try and put on a brave face, but they must also be allowed to do this when they have all of their faculties, whichmeans that people dont have to make the horrible choice when the end of life package is used, because that is a horrible decision to have to make the call on.
    But it mustnt be misused like some other places where being poor and destitute have been used as reasons to end life, we dont need some Akton T4, but the terminally ill should be allowed to legally end their suffering

  2. Grouse Beater says:

    A thought contribution, thank you.

  3. ayeinskye says:

    Thanks Gareth, thanks to covid, most of my fathers suffering was hidden from me, but I saw my father in law wasting away,hisfirst bout of chemo ended on the day my father passed away, so he knew what a fecht was

  4. ayeinskye says:

    (continued due to keyboar malfunction)
    facing especially after teh cancer returned after four months, I wouldnt wish this form of cancer on my worst enemy

  5. Grouse Beater says:

    Sad. And an indelible memory.

  6. diabloandco says:

    Most of us must have watched the slow and dreadful end of a relative or friend and wondered why their suffering couldn’t be ended more quickly and comfortably.
    I remember getting irate over a comment by someone in a religious newspaper , writing of their father dying and pleading to die but for the writer those last weeks were invaluable to him and saying his farewells.All I could think was ‘ selfish , arrogant , miserable swine’
    I cannot understand why anyone should have to leave their home and family , with all its comfort and familiarity , to end their life abroad – it is a cruelty we should end.

  7. Grouse Beater says:

    The most selfish thing I can think of is suicide; blowing your brains out or cutting your wrists and leaving you wife to discover the mess. There has to be a humane way of dying. Most of us will prefer our last minute asleep. I know of only one person who managed that, the poet Norman MacCaig.

  8. diabloandco says:

    Agreed.

  9. Lyn Hay says:

    In days gone by in places such as Tibet and Egypt, your manner of dying was valued as much or more than your manner of living. It was something planned for and assisted by a priest – I haven’t read if the priest would also administer palliative medicines but it would fit with their philosophy. Even warriors from such cultures as the Vikings would look for a good death.

    The current system of palliative drugs in increasing doses, as you mention, certainly works as far as it goes. I watched my sister die this way of breast cancer in the Sue Ryder hospice in Reading. Sat and slept overnights in a chair by her bed. Spoonfed her like a baby. And on the last day watched the doctor stop and look at her and then say to me “Everyone should be here today”.

    While the exterior of the Swiss Dignitas looks to me like a garden shed, that hospice was an old manor house. Yet inside, the money was plainly spent on nurses rather than furnishings. There were always nurses doing nothing except “being available”, one of whom came running when my sister choked on the food I had not cut up quite small enough, and instead of gagging it up she turned blue and rolled her eyes up inside the lids. The nurse sent me packing, rescued her and then sat with me and explained how the drugs removed the gag reflex, and spent time to soothe my trauma. Their focus was on both the person and their family, on easing the passage for both.

    Choking on her food, being killed by her own brother, was not the correct manner of dying. So she was saved to wait for the correct manner and time. Which is really the point of your essay GB, that in the circumstances under discussion we must have the power to plan and arrange our own manner of going. None of us who have paid a coin should be denied proper passage – by “coin” I mean here suffered illness and made efforts to put things right before the next step – and it seems to me to be utterly cruel and inhuman to deny “Assisted Dying” as a complement to the currently working palliative care system.

    You have made a good case here Gareth, you have lived well and I wish you to die well.

  10. sadscot says:

    “found that 77% of Scots supported the measure, with 12% of those questioned opposing it.”
    I really wish people would stop quoting selected polls. On anything. It’s a complete joke. There are numerous polls around on this subject, no two the same. I saw a debate on The Sunday Show last weekend involving someone from Dignity in Dying, a woman, who, although soft spoken, became increasingly aggressive towards the Doctor who was speaking against this bill. She was having none of it.
    I think there are many issues thrown up by what is proposed. I worry especially about when “the right to die” becomes “the duty to die”.
    Hospices in the UK are mostly reliant on donations to keep going which I find really sad. Much, much more could be done to support those places when the work they do is so good and means so much to those they support and assist.
    I guess politicians like McArthur and certain others are happier offering a cheaper option for the government. I find that ghastly and I’m sorry for physicians who are going to get caught up in it all.

  11. Spear o' Annandale says:

    There is not a single DPO (Disabled People’s Organisation) either in Scotland or the rUK that supports Assisted Suicide (AS). The reasons for this are numerous but mainly focus on the farcical “safeguards” that accompany AS.

    There is not a single established country or state where the introduction of AS has been without “slippage” in that it begins with a set number of groups of people who are eligible for AS but as time passes, this “set number” increases greatly (which of course was always the intention).

    The AS lobby has an inexhaustible funding stream because the insurance companies much prefer to have someone commit suicide than have to pay for extended palliative care. It does not matter to them how many campaigns or how many times a Bill is introduced because the money will always be there.

    The examples of horrific deaths are also numerous when people have been ensnared by the rhetoric of Dignity in Dying.

    I empathise with those experiencing overwhelming pain because I have taken 2 shots of morphine per day for the past 30 years just to keep me functioning but there is no way that I would ever consider putting my death into the hands of another.

  12. Stephen says:

    Sorry GB.

    I was having difficulty on another website posting comments and was checking as to whether or not it I could elsewhere. It turns out that the issue was related to how the website was handling my comments rather than anything to do with my account.

    Please rest assured I’m not a bot. I have met you and even bought a couple of your books (Essays 1 & 2) that you signed for me at a Wee Alba Book meeting in Waterloo Place in August 2022!

    If you are interested I had been responding to comments made on an article that I authored and Iain Lawson posted on his Yours for Scotland website and you can read it here: https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2023/09/20/yes-running-to-stand-still/.

    If you are not interested in statics and data then at the very least it could help if you suffer from insomnia.

    Please pardon the inconvenience and feel free to delete both this and my prior comment.

  13. Grouse Beater says:

    Stephen – I tried to enlarge your portrait twice because I was convinced we had met and it seems I was correct. You are welcome here.

    With very few exceptions I eschew statistics in my own essays mainly because I’m a trained educationist and experienced writer, not a blogger nor a social scientist, preferring to explain things to my readership (and to myself!) as a dominie would. I leave charts and stats to the bloggers who have ability to interpret them. For my work, I feel they interrupt the visual flow, but that’s just one of my little idiosyncrasies.

    There are some excellent passages in the piece you link ‘Running To Stand Still‘ which I’ll digest properly as soon as I have a free minute, (I’m working on two books simultaneously) and get back to you. My essays and the articles of others published on this site are generally 2,000 words maximum. I noticed readers tend to prefer 1,200 word articles. I find it hard to read sites presented in the form of long thin columns, another idiosyncrasy, one born of reading books rather than newspapers or the paper trails of bloggers.

    While I am here, if you have not bought the last edition of the trilogy, don’t be shy in coming forward! 🙂

    I hope you will contribute to this site when you feel it necessary: over 50,000 readers worldwide.

  14. Stephen says:

    Thanks for the compliments GB, high praise indeed from an erudite scholar and man of words, letters, plays and films like yourself.

    I see that you were true to your word and commented on my guest article on YfS, although as it was timestamped at 1am it would appear as though it failed to get you to nod off to sleep.

    I would be interested in acquiring Essays 3 … but only if signed by your good self as you kindly did for the other 2 books that my wife and I obtained from you last year.

  15. Grouse Beater says:

    Nae problem at aw, pal. I’ll have Barbara sign too, That raises the books value considerably. When you’re ready to purchase the last edition, please email your full address to: garwarscot@hotmail.com. I’ll send details of how to pay. 🙂

Leave a comment